Don't miss

‘Tino Pattiera’ Festival: Opera Arias Under the Stars

Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra announces International Opera Arias Festival ‘Tino Pattiera’ which will take place in Dubrovnik from July 1th to July 6th, 2016.

This is a 9th year of the festival named after and organized in the memory of the world famous tenor Tino Pattiera, born 1890 in Cavtat, a town near Dubrovnik.

Tino Pattiera was one of major popular singers at the opera houses both in Europe and worldwide in the first half of the 20th century. He was the leading singer at the Royal Saxon Court Opera in Dresden and member of the Berlin State Opera. A tenor of a specific voice, he masterfully interpreted lyrical and dramatic title roles in operas by Bizet, Gounod, Auber, Leoncavallo, Massenet, Meyerber, Tchaikovsky, Moussorgsky, Verdi, Puccini, Wagner, Strauss and very often the newspapers claimed that famous Enrico Caruso got his successor.

Music director of the festival is Israeli counductor Noam Zur, living and working in Germany, but performing all around the Europe and world. Maestro Zur will be conducting the concerts and at the festival will perform excellent singers: soprano Liana Aleksanyan (Austria), mezzosprano Marisa Martins (Spain), tenor Hugh Smith (USA), baritone Ionut Pascu (Romania) and pianist Stefani Grbić (Croatia).

Here’s the programme:

• July 1th – ‘All the world’s a stage’ – Literature in opera
Rector’s Palace at 9.30 pm
Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra / conductor Noam Zur / Liana Aleksanyan (soprano) / Marisa Martins (mezzosoprano) / Hugh Smith (tenor) / Ionut Pascu (bariton)

• July 2nd – Recital – „Fin de siècle“
Rector’s Palace at 9.30 pm
Hugh Smith, tenor / Marisa Martins, mezzosoprano / Stefani Grbić, piano
Program: M. Ravel, C. Debussy and R. Strauss

• July 5h – „Cielo e mar“
In front of the Rector’s Palace at 9.30 pm
Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra / Noam Zur, conductor / Liana Aleksanyan, soprano/ Marisa Martins, mezzosoprano / Hugh Smith, tenor / Ionut Pascu, baritone

Tickets and more info here: Dubrovnik Symphony Orchestra Official Web Page